Dubai: Images of a City

DSCF1992.JPG

Hey folks! I have too many moments in life wherein I feel poetic and excited about compositions forming in my mind (how they’re supposed to be narrated, which words to use, etc). I get down to writing them, and end up with two amazing paragraphs. Then, I get lazy about the rest.

I’m mostly sorry to myself for being either too busy or just not disciplined enough to actually sit down and write things. I guess that’s why I have a million drafts, and not one published composition.

Still, I enjoy discussion! A lot of times, writing chill posts like this is less stressful and more fulfilling than those long, dramatic essays anyway. (I WILL PUBLISH ONE SOMEDAY!). They’re also much clearer in terms of intent, so here goes:

I’ve been living in Dubai for the past couple of weeks. It’s a truly glamorous and unique city, not just in terms of local customs but also with regards to the collective attitude of the people. I’ve collected some personal insights about its architecture and culture, but that can wait. Tonight’s post will revolve around a couple of images I’ve taken during my travels.

These depict various scenes in the city at street level– how the people interact with the architecture, and what it feels like to be in this place. Didn’t really edit anything because I’m too lazy. Regardless, it’s almost impossible to take bad photos in Dubai, as all of its buildings are simply stunning.

5PM.
5PM. People begin to gather around a set of fountains in the Dubai Mall. Everyone is expectant.
DSCF2063
The view from a boat ride going to the Creek Harbor. The surrounding buildings mesh so well with the body of water.
7PM. The crowd has grown exponentially and is enjoying the dancing fountains. Dubai looks pretty at night.
DSCF2028
Pale building on a pale sky.
DSCF2081
One of my favorite photos. This was taken in a gold souq, where narrow corridors led to this central space. Doesn’t seem as ‘fake’ or constructed as the rest of Dubai’s architecture, and the sun hits those mashrabiya screens perfectly.
DSCF2035
Those columns just look great with people, don’t they? I’m not really sure why.
DSCF2711
Sunset, the prettiest time of the day. You won’t see it here, but the sun is quite an intense red. The buildings are also twice as pretty. Dubai may be unbearably hot, but sometimes I feel like the sunset makes everything worth it.

In a couple of hours, I will be going to the Etihad museum and meeting a few locals! I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did!

-B

Leave a Reply

